Organizing Tip: How do you overcome resistance?

Uuugggghhhh, I don’t want to do that!

I don’t care who you are, you have something in your life that you don’t like to do. Sadly, mine is blogging. There, I said it.  The weird thing is that while I am blogging, I don’t mind it at all.  It’s getting started that I resist with a force that rivals the atom bomb.  

Why?  Please indulge me in this self-talk therapy session, even though I’m sharing it with the world at large.  

I have a reminder on my Outlook every Wednesday and Saturday to BLOG (and that’s how it looks, all in caps).

When the reminder comes up, I snooze it into oblivion.  Why? 

        Maybe I don’t respond well to all caps.  I’ll change the reminders to something like “talk to your readers” or “share your knowledge” or “Just do it!”  

        Maybe I only need one reminder each week instead of two.

        Maybe I can create a “parking lot” for ideas that I think of to blog about and can access when it’s time to blog.

I have a friend who asks me once in a while if I have blogged lately (I have asked her to nudge me once in a while).  I avoid responding to her emails until I know she’ll call me and yell at me.  Why?

        Maybe if I had something good to report, I’d reply more quickly.

        Maybe if I reported to her when I blogged, the pressure would be off.

So here’s what I’m going to do: 

        I am going to implement a few of these tactics that have literally come out of my head as I’ve been typing.

What are you going to do?  

        You are going to share your resistance as a comment to this blog and what you are going to do about it!

Let’s kick resistance in the butt once and for all!

Patty Kreamer, CPO®

Certified Professional Organizer®

patty@ByeByeClutter.com

www.ByeByeClutter.com